Tenant Rights You Should Know

Having owned six homes of my own at this point in my life, I have also been in a renter’s shoes myself as well as been the landlord. There is nothing more stressful for a renter than a landlord who does not take them seriously when they raise a concern; most importantly, when it comes to issues related to safety – including health safety.

I found this following guide very informative when I had a landlord who downplayed my concerns about water leaks in my bedroom window and the related mold. My video recording, record keeping, and notices to a senior manager were effective in producing speedy results. Thankfully there was a management company who oversaw the not-so-handy on site manager who had blown me off for a month and whose idea of checking for a water leak in my window was to lean over my outside deck a few feet away and eyeball the caulk. My video evidence also proved his gross incompetence at understanding regular moisture and condensation vs. a pure water leak…dripping water included.

By the Northwest Justice Project, this guide comes recommended on the website for the Washington State Office of The Attorney General: http://www.lawhelp.org/documents/1593216300EN.pdf?stateabbrev=/WA/ Also see the Russian and Spanish versions.

RACHEL BADGETT
Managing Broker & Owner | Urban Properties
Five Star Award in Customer Service, Seattle Magazine

Original Post

One thought on “Tenant Rights You Should Know

Leave a comment